#GivingTuesday »


Join the movement and give. Share the news using the power of social media!

Scholarships Award »


Phillips University Legacy Scholars for 2016-2017

June 2016 Trivia Contest »


Here are the June 2016 Q&A

No events scheduled…


PUAFA on Facebook

PULF on Facebook

PULF on Twitter


Announcing 26 Phillips University Legacy Scholars for the Class of 2016-2017

Thanks to you, Phillips University Legacy Foundation is pleased to announce the non-profit organization has awarded nearly $100,000 in undergraduate scholarships for the 2016-2017 academic year. The Legacy Scholars program grants annual awards of up to $5,000 to full-time undergraduate students pursuing a liberal arts education at any of the 17 colleges or universities currently or historically affiliated with the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) across the United States.

“The Phillips University Legacy Foundation Scholarship and Leadership Development Program strives to support talented young people by nurturing their dreams, cultivating their talent, and inspiring leadership growth,” stated Kelly Coker, Executive Director. “We look forward to working with this amazing group of young people in further developing the leadership skills they will need to be the Christian leaders of tomorrow.”

“Twenty-six recipients were recently accepted into the Phillips University Legacy Foundation Scholarship and Leadership Development Program. Legacy Scholars, among the brightest, most promising young people at their schools, are accepted into the program based on their academic achievements as well as present and potential leadership in the church and in the community.”

Eleven new Legacy Scholars have been accepted into the program for 2016-2017:

Kinkade Barreiro – Northwest Christian University, Freshman, from Puyallup, Washington, major is undeclared

Avery Bennett – Chapman University, Freshman from Bartlesville, Oklahoma, Peace Studies major

Stephanie Caress – Chapman University, Junior from Carmel, Indiana, Music/Strategic & Corporate Communications double major

Bethany Cheyney – Texas Christian University, Freshman from Irving, Texas, Mechanical Engineering major

John Giesen – Eureka College, Freshman from Cassville, Wisconsin, Business Administration major

Sydney Green – Lynchburg College, Junior from Kenbridge, Virginia, Athletic Training major

Macy Grimsley – Texas Christian University, Freshman from Rogers, Arkansas, Political Science/Social Work double major

Lauren Hozdic – Texas Christian University, Sophomore from Atlanta, Texas, Business major

Chelsea Martin – Texas Christian University, Freshman from Spring, Texas, Nursing major

Erin Michael – Drury University, Sophomore from Fort Gibson, Oklahoma, Psychology major

Erica Underwood – Barton College, Freshman from Fayetteville, North Carolina, Deaf Education/Special Education double major

To see the 2016-2017 Legacy Scholars including your eleven new Scholars,

Since the inception of the program in 2002, 154 students have received over $1.3 million in scholarship assistance. The Foundation also provides specialized training for the Legacy Scholars at an annual four-day leadership development conference which will be held this year from November 10-13, 2016 at the Heifer International Ranch in Perryville, Arkansas. If you’re interested in attending, please contact Tamela Harsha, Scholarship Administrator, at 580.237.4433 or email tamela@pulf.org.

If you would like to help support the Phillips University Legacy Scholarship and Leadership Development Program, please contact Kelly Coker, Executive Director, at 580.237.4433 or email kelly@pulf.org. You can also give securely online at https://donatenow.networkforgood.org/pulf.

2016-2017 Phillips University Legacy Seminary Scholarship Awarded to Phillips Theological Seminary Student

The recipient of the Phillips University Legacy Seminary Scholarship for 2016-2017 is Zenobia Mayo. Zenobia is a Disciples of Christ student pursuing the Masters of Divinity degree. She is actively involved in ministry at the Pine Street Christian Church in Tulsa, Oklahoma and is a graduate of Jarvis Christian College. Zenobia has been a tremendous student leader engaged in multiple facets of the Phillips Theological Seminary’s campus life and serves as a model and mentor for other students.

Great News!

YOU have met the Legacy Scholar Giving Challenge! That means that $75,000 in donations to the Legacy Foundation were doubled to $150,000!

» Donate Online Today!*


» Download Pledge Form To Mail In Today

Dick & Legacy Scholar, Annaliese Baker, ready for the zipline at 2013 Leadership Conference.

2016-2017 Phillips University Seminary Scholars

Phillips University, Inc. is pleased to announce the Seminary Scholarship recipients for 2016-2017.

Sarah A. Fiske-Phillips –Claremont School of Theology, 3rd year Seminary Scholar from Pasadena, California

Judith N. Guy –Disciples Divinity House at University of Chicago, 3rd year Seminary Scholar from Chicago, Illinois

Colton D. Lott –Disciples Divinity House at University of Chicago, 2nd year Seminary Scholar from Ada, Oklahoma

Daniel C. Lyvers –Disciples Divinity House at Vanderbilt, 2nd year Seminary Scholar from Bardstown, Kentucky

Zane M. Ridings –Brite Divinity, 3rd year Seminary Scholar from Salem, Oregon

Kevin A. Toth –Brite Divinity, 2nd year Seminary Scholar from Wake Forest, North Carolina

The purpose of the Phillips University Seminary Scholarship Program is to perpetuate the mission and the legacy of Phillips University by helping educate people who will be future ministers of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ). To learn more about the Phillips University Seminary Scholar Program, click the “Scholarships” tab.